Skip to Main Content

A Consuming Fire

LIST PRICE ₹627.00

PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

About The Book

Uprooted meets The Grace Year in this dark young adult fantasy of love and vengeance following a girl who vows to kill a god after her sister is unjustly slain by his hand.

Weatherell girls aren’t supposed to die.

Once every eighteen years, the isolated forest village of Weatherell is asked to send one girl to the god of the mountain to give a sacrifice before returning home. Twins Anya and Ilva Astraea are raised with this destiny in mind, and when their time comes, spirited Ilva volunteers to go. Her devoted sister Anya is left at home to pray for Ilva’s safe return. But Anya’s prayers are denied.

With her sister dead, Anya volunteers to make a journey of her own to visit the god of the mountain. But unlike her sister, sacrifice is the furthest thing from Anya’s mind. Anya has no intention of giving anything more to the god, or of letting any other girl do so ever again. Anya Astraea has not set out to placate a god. She’s set out to kill one.

About The Author

Laura E. Weymouth

Laura E. Weymouth is the author of several novels, including the critically acclaimed The Light Between WorldsA Treason of Thorns, and A Rush of Wings. Born and raised in the Niagara region of Ontario, Laura now lives at the edge of the woods in western New York with her husband, two wild-hearted daughters, and an ever-expanding menagerie of animal friends. Learn more at LauraEWeymouth.com.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books (November 22, 2022)
  • Length: 352 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781665902724
  • Ages: 14 - 99

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

"A heady and evocative tale that will appeal to readers of Leigh Bardugo and Holly Black."

– School Library Journal

* "Utilizing lyrical language, memorable characters, and a romantic undertone, Weymouth crafts a meditative fantasy worth savoring."

– Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Achingly lovely and luminous, Weymouth weaves a tale of vengeance and mercy that left me completely enthralled. I’ll be thinking about the Weatherell girls for a very long time to come.”

– Erin A. Craig, New York Times bestselling author of HOUSE OF SALT AND SORROWS

"Once again, Weymouth delivers a story full of lyrically-spun atmosphere and ferocious spirit that you'll be thinking about long after it's done."

– Lauren Blackwood, New York Times bestselling author of WITHIN THESE WICKED WALLS

"A Consuming Fire is delicate and devastating, a heart-wrenching exploration of faith, mercy, and how worship can twist on axes of power."

– Hannah Whitten, New York Times bestselling author of For the Wolf

"With exquisite prose and fiery characters, A Consuming Fire will fulfill readers in search of stories about sisterhood, courage, and love in all the forms it takes."

– Nafiza Azad, author of THE WILD ONES

"At its heart, A Consuming Fire is a story of resilience and courage. Weymouth’s spellbinding fantasy adventure celebrates the indomitable strength of the human spirit when up against the impossible."

– Sarah Raughley, author of The Bones of Ruin

“I adored this fierce and beautiful book. I long to give it to every girl who ever wanted to fight a god.

– Erin Bow, Award-winning author of The Scorpion Rules

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images

More books from this author: Laura E. Weymouth