Skip to Main Content

Group

How One Therapist and a Circle of Strangers Saved My Life

LIST PRICE ₹599.00
PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

A REESE’S BOOK CLUB PICK

'Every page of this incredible memoir by Christie Tate had me thinking, “I wish I had read this book when I was 25. It would have helped me so much!”'
Reese Witherspoon

‘This unrestrained memoir is a transporting experience and one of the most startlingly hopeful books I have ever read. It will make you want to get better, whatever better means for you.’
Lisa Taddeo, New York Times bestselling author of Three Women 
 
For fans of Three Women and Everything I Know About Love comes a refreshingly original memoir about self-discovery, loneliness and love. A guarded young lawyer reluctantly joins a psychotherapy group where she has to share her innermost thoughts with six complete strangers. In turn she finds human connection, and herself.
 
“What’s going to happen to me when I start group?”
“All of your secrets are going to come out.”
 
Christie Tate has just been named the top student in her law school class and seems to finally have got her eating disorder under control. So why is she driving through Chicago fantasising about her own death?
 
Desperate, she joins Dr Rosen’s psychotherapy group, and through his unconventional methods, he challenges everything she thought she knew, about herself and others. In group, secrets are not allowed. This means telling a group of strangers everything – about her struggle with bulimia, her failed sex life, her overwhelming sense of loneliness and acute longing for a relationship. And as she keeps sharing her thoughts and feelings and listens to the others doing the same, her life slowly begins to change.
 
This is a deliciously compelling read, and an intimate journey through the daring, exhilarating, painful, and hilarious journey that is group therapy – a process that breaks you down, and then reassembles you so that all the pieces finally fit.
 
 
Praise for Group
‘This book will remind you how to come back to yourself even when you want to give up, make you laugh, make you cry, help you breathe. This book will save lives’ Lidia Yuknavitch
 
‘Real transformation is not for the faint of heart, and in these pages Christie Tate captures her evolution in all its misery and hilarity, along with the beauty of bearing witness to one another as we grow.’ Sarah Hepola 
 
‘Christie Tate takes us on a journey that's heartbreaking and hilarious, surprising and redemptive – and, ultimately, a testament to the power of connection.’ Lori Gottlie

(c) Mary Rafferty Photography

Christie Tate is a Chicago-based writer and essayist. She has been published in The New York Times (Modern Love), The Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, McSweeney’s Internet Tendency, and elsewhere.

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK (October 27, 2020)
  • Length: 288 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781471197888

Eugene Onegin made me want to move to Russia and Little Women made me want to have sisters. GROUP made me want to rewind a decade, sit with a number of strangers and one shamanic doctor, strip down and survive. This unrestrained memoir is a transporting experience and one of the most startlingly hopeful books I have ever read. It will make you want to get better, whatever better means for you."

– Lisa Taddeo, New York Times best-selling author of Three Women

"Group sucked me in and never let go. Real transformation is not for the faint of heart, and in these pages Christie Tate captures her evolution in all its misery and hilarity, along with the beauty of bearing witness to one another as we grow. Group reminds us that we are hurt by other people, but we can be healed by them too. Damn, I want to join a group now." 

– Sarah Hepola, New York Times best-selling author of Blackout: Remembering the Things I Drank to Forget

"It takes courage to bare your soul in front of a therapist, but when you add six strangers to the mix, it becomes an act of faith. In GROUP, Christie Tate takes us on a journey that's heartbreaking and hilarious, surprising and redemptive--and, ultimately, a testament to the power of connection. Perhaps the greatest act of bravery is that Tate shared her story with us, and how lucky we are that she did."

– Lori Gottlieb, New York Times bestselling author of Maybe You Should Talk to Someone

"In breathtaking bursts of beauty and vulnerability, Christie Tate's GROUP dares to tell the story of a body from the inside out. There is a place between pain and joy and her body is the word for it. This book will remind you how to come back to yourself even when you want to give up, make you laugh, make you cry, help you breathe. This book will save lives."

– Lidia Yuknavitch, author of Verge and The Misfit Manifesto