Skip to Main Content

Other Side of the Tracks

LIST PRICE ₹627.00

PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

About The Book

This lilting and riveting young adult debut novel about three teens entangled by secret love, open hatred, and the invisible societal constraints wrapped around people both Black and white is perfect for readers of All American Boys and The Hate U Give.

There is an unspoken agreement between the racially divided towns of Bayside and Hamilton: no one steps over the train tracks that divide them. Or else.

Not until Zach Whitman anyway, a white boy who moves in from Philly and who dreams of music. When he follows his dream across the tracks to meet his idol, the famous jazz musician who owns The Sunlight Record Shop in Hamilton, he’s flung into Capri Collins’s path.

Capri has big plans: she wants to follow her late mother’s famous footsteps, dancing her way onto Broadway, and leaving this town for good, just like her older brother, Justin, is planning to do when he goes off to college next year. As sparks fly, Zach and Capri realize that they can help each other turn hope into a reality, even if it means crossing the tracks to do it.

But one tragic night changes everything. When Justin’s friend, the star of Hamilton’s football team, is murdered by a white Bayside police officer, the long-standing feud between Bayside and Hamilton becomes an all-out war And Capri, Justin, and Zach are right in the middle of it.

About The Author

© ATIBA SONNEBEYATTA

Charity Alyse earned her bachelor’s degree in English literature at Rowan University and is currently working toward a master’s degree in clinical mental health therapy. Other Side of the Tracks is her first novel. Alyse lives in New Jersey. You can find her on Twitter and Instagram @Charity_Alyse and CharityAlyse.com.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Denene Millner Books/Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers (November 22, 2022)
  • Length: 448 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781534497733
  • Ages: 12 - 99

Browse Related Books

Raves and Reviews

"Alyse’s debut novel holds the perfect elements to create a fresh spin on star-crossed romances, while still offering sharp commentary on relevant social issues."

– -Booklist, 11/01/2022

"This emotionally raw volume juggles interracial dynamics and themes of appropriation, identity, and systemic racism."

– -Publishers Weekly, 10/17/2022

"An interesting look at the many forms activism can take."

– -Kirkus Reviews, 10/1/2022

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images