The Photographer of the Lost

LIST PRICE ₹599.00
PRICE MAY VARY BY RETAILER

About The Book

**A BBC RADIO 2 BOOK CLUB PICK**
Perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and 1917

If someone you loved went missing, would you ever stop searching for them?


‘This excellent debut is a melancholic reminder of the rippling after-effects of war’ The Times
'[An] impressive debut… a touching novel of love and loss' Sunday Times

1921. The Great War is over and while many survivors have been reunited with their loved ones, Edie’s husband Francis has not come home. He has been declared ‘missing, believed killed’, but when Edie receives a mysterious photograph in the post, taken by Francis, hope flares. And so she begins to search.

Francis’s brother, Harry, is also searching. Hired by grieving families to photograph gravesites, he has returned to the Western Front. He too longs for Francis to be alive, so they can forgive each other for the last conversation they ever had. 

And as Harry and Edie’s paths converge, they begin to get closer to a startling truth.

An incredibly moving account of an often-forgotten moment in history, The Photographer of the Lost is an epic novel of forbidden love, loss and the shattered hearts left behind in the wake of the First World War.

Caroline Scott is a freelance writer and historian specializing in WWI and women’s history. The Photographer of the Lost is partially inspired by her family history.

Praise for The Photographer of the Lost:
'There's only one word for this novel… and that's epic… A beautifully written must-read' heat
'A gripping, devastating novel about the lost and the ones they left behind' Sarra Manning, RED
‘The pain of not knowing where a son, brother or husband lies, and the guilt and psychological dissonance that torment survivors, are movingly conveyed in this terrific first novel’ Daily Mail
‘Scott has done an amazing job of drawing on real stories to craft a powerful novel’ Good Housekeeping
‘A deeply poignant and immersive novel . . .  told in beautiful, elevated prose. I was completely caught up in these characters’ stories’ Rachel Hore, author of The Love Child
'What a wonderful debut novel. So accomplished. It grabs you from page one with such immediacy, such urgency. With a mystery at its heart and a moving, but page turning hook, I couldn’t stop reading' Lorna Cook, author of The Forgotten Village
‘A poignant hymn to those who gave up their lives for their country and to those who were left behind’ Fanny Blake, author of A Summer Reunion
'I was utterly captivated by this novel, which swept me away, broke my heart, then shone wonderful light through all the pieces' Isabelle Broom, author of One Winter Morning
‘Beautiful, unflinching: The Photographer of the Lost is going to be on an awful lot of Best Books of the Year lists, mine included… unforgettable’ Iona Grey, author of The Glittering Hour
‘Had me spellbound from the first page to the last’ Hazel Gaynor, author of The Lighthouse Keeper’s Daughter
'An amazing debut. It captivated me from start to finish and I can't recommend it highly enough' NB Magazine

About The Author

(c) Johnny Ring

Caroline completed a PhD in History at the University of Durham. She has a particular interest in the experience of women during the First World War, in the challenges faced by the returning soldier, and in the development of tourism and pilgrimage in the former conflict zones. Caroline is originally from Lancashire, but now lives in south-west France.

Product Details

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK (October 31, 2019)
  • Length: 512 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781471186899

Raves and Reviews

'[An] impressive debut . . . a touching novel of love and loss'

– The Sunday Times

'There's only one word for this novel . . . and that's epic . . . A beautifully written must-read'

– heat

‘This excellent debut is a melancholic reminder of the rippling after-effects of war’

– The Times

‘A poignant hymn to those who gave up their lives for their country and to those who were left behind’ 

– Fanny Blake, bestselling author of A Summer Reunion

‘The pain of not knowing where a son, brother or husband lies, and the guilt and psychological dissonance that torment survivors, are movingly conveyed in this terrific first novel’

– Daily Mail

'I was utterly captivated by this novel, which swept me away, broke my heart, then shone wonderful light through all the pieces'

– Isabelle Broom, author of One Winter Morning

‘Beautiful, unflinching, elegiac: The Photographer of the Lost is going to be on an awful lot of Best Books of the Year lists, mine included . . . it’s unforgettable’ 

– Iona Grey, bestselling author of The Glittering Hour

‘A beautiful, tender novel which explores the aftermath of the Great War, and the shattered lives left behind. Written with gorgeous prose and a cast of memorable characters, this is a stunning debut which had me spellbound from the first page to the last’

– Hazel Gaynor, New York Times bestselling author of The Lighthouse Keeper’s Daughter

‘What a stunningly beautiful book this is. Caroline Scott evokes the trenches of WWI and the heartache of the postwar period as vividly as if she had lived it herself . . . this is a powerful, redemptive novel, one that teaches us not only about history, but about our capacity for love. I could not put it down’ 

– Abigail DeWitt, author of News of Our Loved Ones

'A gripping, devastating novel about the lost and the ones they left behind' 

– Sarra Manning, RED

‘Scott has done an amazing job of drawing on real stories to craft a powerful novel’

– Good Housekeeping

'An amazing debut. It captivated me from start to finish and I can't recommend it highly enough'

– NB Magazine

‘A deeply poignant and immersive novel . . .  told in beautiful, elevated prose. I was completely caught up in these characters’ stories.’

– Rachel Hore, author of The Love Child

What a wonderful debut novel. So accomplished. It grabs you from page one with such immediacy, such urgency. With a mystery at its heart and a moving, but page turning hook, I couldn’t stop reading.

– Lorna Cook, author of The Forgotten Village

Resources and Downloads

High Resolution Images